On April 21st, 2018, the 42nd Annual World Finals of ACM International Collegiate Programming Contest (ICPC) is completed in Peking University. Huazhong University of Science and Technology has a representative team to attend this contest. Members include Wenhao Song in School of Naval Architecture and Ocean Engineering, Lingyun Liao in School of Computer Science and Technology, and Hao Fan in School of Software, and the coach is Kun He, a faculty member in School of Computer Science and Technology. The team solved 5 problems and won the 31st place, outperforming strong teams from Wuhan University, Chinese University of Hong Kong, University of Electronic Science and Technology, Xi'an Jiaotong University, Zhejiang University, Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications.

There are 140 teams selected from the six continents, 111 countries, 3,098 universities, and 46,000 contestants to enter the world finals. In the five-hour final contest, the contestants need to solve as much as possible 11 extremely hard algorithm problems by using only one computer. This not only requires the participating team members to have broad knowledge, solid mathematics background, excellent algorithm design abilities and outstanding programming skills, but also a comprehensive challenge of their psychological quality, self-learning ability and teamwork spirit.

The ACM International Undergraduate Student Programming Competition started from 1970 and it is recognized as the largest, highest-level, most authoritative, and fairest international undergraduate student programming competition in the world. It has a long history and an authoritative organization in the international computer industry. Organized by the American Computer Association (ACM), it has always been known as the "Olympic for Programming."

Founded in 1973, the School of Computer Science affiliated to Huazhong University of Science and Technology is a key school included in the national "211 Project" and "985 Project" (“211Project ” and "985 Project" aiming to support leading Universities under Ministry of Education). The school always insists to create synergy between theoretical research and engineering development, integrate scientific research and talent cultivation. And a number of key laboratories and industry leaders have been built as our practice base. After more than 40 years of construction and development, they have become important base for technology innovation and entrepreneurship and from where come out a big number of professional personnel in computer field.

The school of Computer Science and Technology has had six research institutes, an engineering research center, 11 national or provincial sciences research bases and hatched two high-tech enterprises. The main research directions include Parallel and Distributed Computing, Database and Software Engineering, Digital Media and Intelligent Computing, Computing and Optimization Theory, Embedded System and Software, Network and Information Security, Storage Technologies and Systems. In the latest 5 years, the school has taken on over 500 research projects, including more than 280 projects sponsored by governments. And, the school has won 2 National Science and Technology Achievement Awards. There are xx issued patents and xx computer software copyrights. We have published xx papers in the international and domestic journals and conferences.

In the School of Computer Science and Technology, there are 155 full-time academic staff members, including 37 professors, 70 associate professors and 48 lecturers. Among all the academic staff members, there are 2 professors of Cheung Kong Scholar Program, 1 youth professor of Cheung Kong Scholar Program,2 winners of The National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars, 1 Innovative member of Thousand Talents Program, 1 Entrepreneurs member of Thousand Talents Program, 1 Young Scholars member of Thousand Talents Program, 2 selected in Millions of Leading Engineering Talents, 2 winners of Research Fund for Distinguished Young Scientists, 2 Top Young Innovative Talents of the Organization Department of CPC Central Committee and 7 winners of Program for New Century Excellent Talents in University.